
Editorial illustration · not a coffee photograph
Editorial illustration
Editorial illustration
Editorial illustration
Burundi Grand Cru Auction Lot
- farm, washing station and producerJNP Coffee is the auction and sourcing partner; the exact producing group and station behind Intelligentsia’s purchased lot are not disclosed.
- altitude m and harvestNo exact-lot elevation or harvest date is published.
- fermentation and drying methodThe lot is identified as washed, but the detailed fermentation and drying protocol is not published.
- bag size gThe exact official page exposes a size selector but no verifiable package weight.
- roast levelNo reliable conventional roast label is published for this exact release.
- public sentiment ratingNo verified independent exact-release rating with a transparent method and source count was found.
FROM THE BAG
BACK TO THE LAND.
Every link we could verify, traced in one place. Follow the chain as far as it goes — when the industry doesn't disclose a link, we say so instead of guessing.
- 01The name on the bagBurundi Grand Cru Auction Lot
- 02The brand
- 03The roaster
- 04The variety
- 05The farmNot disclosed
- 06The farmerJNP Coffee (auction organizer and sourcing/export partner; lot producer not disclosed)
- 07The region
- 08The country
JNP Coffee organized the Grand Cru Burundi auction and helped Intelligentsia source the lot. The exact producing group or washing station is not disclosed, so JNP is not presented as the farmer.
Intelligentsia describes a relationship with JNP Coffee dating to 2016 and purchased this Bourbon lot through Burundi's first private Grand Cru auction.
A Bourbon micro-lot from JNP Coffee's inaugural private Grand Cru Burundi auction, with auction proceeds designed to return additional premiums and fund producer support.
WHAT DID THEY ACTUALLY
DO TO THIS COFFEE?
Retained Karuzi Province, Burundi, Bourbon, and washed processing.
Kept JNP Coffee accurately identified as the auction and sourcing partner rather than the undisclosed farmer.
Retained the $21 price, replaced catalog tasting notes with the official Tropical profile, and removed the unsupported 340 g weight.
Verified region, variety, process, price, availability, auction context, and current official flavor profile.
No package weight, farm, washing station, farmer, elevation, harvest, roast level, detailed process, or score was inferred.
The page now documents the auction story using the official release rather than secondary catalog assumptions.
Intelligentsia classifies the profile as Tropical.
- · https://www.intelligentsia.com/products/burundi-grand-cru-auction-lot
- · https://www.jnpcoffee.com/auction
In the database. Not tasted. Not scored.
This coffee is in our database because we can reliably document it — but we haven't tasted and scored it yet, and we never publish a score we haven't earned.
Outside reviews and internet discussion — is kept clearly separate from our own review. When we taste it, our full review appears here.
What the internet is saying about this coffee
Our research pipeline scanned public reviews, videos, forums and discussions for this coffee (last pass 2026-10-26) and found no independent review of this exact release that meets our verification standards. When qualifying sources appear, they'll be published here.
coffeeDB corroborates exact-release catalog facts but provides no cup score. JNP and Daily Coffee News document the auction program rather than tasting this retail release. Non-exact, seller, directory, different-release, and duplicate sources were excluded.
Until then, meet the people behind it: