Skip to main content
Who Makes The
BEST COFFEE
Colombia Aponte Village Honey — supplied coffee image 1
Editorial sacred-geometry artwork for Colombia Aponte Village Honey; not a documentary photograph

Editorial illustration

Editorial sacred-geometry artwork for Colombia Aponte Village Honey; not a documentary photograph

Editorial illustration

Editorial sacred-geometry artwork for Colombia Aponte Village Honey; not a documentary photograph

Editorial illustration

🇨🇴ColombiaRed HoneyField BlendMedium roast
Roaster website
Country
🇨🇴Colombia
Region
Nariño
Town
Aponte
Farm / Station
—
Farmer / Producer
Species
Arabica
Type
Single origin
Grade
—
Process
Roast
Medium
Tasting notes
Rainier Cherry, Butterscotch, Green Apple, Papaya
Fermentation
Red-honey mucilage fermentation occurs during partial drying; the archived page does not disclose a timed or inoculated fermentation protocol.
Drying
Partial drying before depulping, followed by raised-bed drying.
Product page
Date reviewed
—
Why some details are blank
  • farm idOnyx identifies a community lot from Inga producers of Aponte but no individual farm or estate.
  • gradeNo formal green-coffee export grade is published for the archived release.
  • fermentation durationThe red-honey sequence is described, but no timed fermentation or inoculation protocol is disclosed.
  • drying durationRaised-bed drying is verified, but its duration is not published.
  • roast dateNo bag-specific roast date is available for the archived release.
  • cultivar breakdownOnyx identifies a field blend without naming cultivars or proportions.
The transparency chain

FROM THE BAG
BACK TO THE LAND.

Every link we could verify, traced in one place. Follow the chain as far as it goes — when the industry doesn't disclose a link, we say so instead of guessing.

  1. 01
    The name on the bag
    Colombia Aponte Village Honey
  2. 02
  3. 03
    The roaster
  4. 04
    The variety
  5. 05
    The farm
    Not disclosed
  6. 06
  7. 07
    The region
  8. 08
From the producer

Onyx attributes this community lot to the Inga producers of Aponte in Nariño’s Juanambú canyon. No individual farm or grower is named, so the collective relationship is retained without inventing farm-level attribution.

From the roaster

Onyx archives this release with a Moderate roast label, Agtron 127, Loring S70 Peregrine production, and suitability for filter or espresso.

Why this coffee is noteworthy

A recurring Aponte community lot using an unusual red-honey sequence in which coffee is partially dried before depulping, supported by a named Indigenous producer collective rather than a single estate.

The honest process breakdown

WHAT DID THEY ACTUALLY
DO TO THIS COFFEE?

01
Partial pre-drying

Onyx says the coffee was partially dried before depulping.

02
Red-honey stage

Mucilage remained on the seed during honey processing; no timed or inoculated fermentation is disclosed.

03
Raised-bed drying

Onyx identifies raised-bed finishing for the archived release.

What was added?

No fruit, flavoring, culture or post-roast additive is disclosed.

What wasn't added?

No inoculated culture, co-ferment ingredient, exact fermentation time or drying duration was inferred.

Why it matters

The sequence is unusual within red-honey processing, but the evidence does not support calling it a co-ferment or inoculated fermentation.

What you might taste

Onyx lists Rainier cherry, butterscotch, green apple and papaya.

Sources for these process claims
  • · https://onyxcoffeelab.com/products/colombia-aponte-village-honey-25
Coffee profile

In the database. Not tasted. Not scored.

This coffee is in our database because we can reliably document it — but we haven't tasted and scored it yet, and we never publish a score we haven't earned.

Outside reviews and internet discussion — is kept clearly separate from our own review. When we taste it, our full review appears here.

The internet pulse

What the internet is saying about this coffee

Research complete — no qualifying reviews yet

Our research pipeline scanned public reviews, videos, forums and discussions for this coffee (last pass 2026-10-28) and found no independent review of this exact release that meets our verification standards. When qualifying sources appear, they'll be published here.

What we found

Non-exact, seller, directory, generic-roaster, different-release, duplicate, and older-release sources were excluded. No qualifying independent exact-release review remains.

Until then, meet the people behind it: